Recent International Law Book Awards

      Comments Off on Recent International Law Book Awards

Several international law organisations award prizes to the best books of the past year. The winners of the ASIL Book Awards, ESIL Book Prize, and ILAW Book Award are now all available through the Law Library as e-books.

ASIL Book Awards
The American Society of International Law (ASIL) grants three book awards, known as ASIL Certificates of Merit. This year's winners are:

  • Certificate of Merit for high technical craftsmanship and utility to practicing lawyers and scholars: Jürgen Basedow, Giesela Rühl, Franco Ferrari, and Pedro de Miguel Asensio, Encyclopedia of Private International Law (see also our previous blog post)

Last year's winners are also available through the library:

ESIL Book Prize
The European Society of International Law annually awards an outstanding work in the field of international law. The 2017 ESIL Book Prize winner is James Green for his book The Persistent Objector Rule in International Law.

ILAW Book Award
The International Law Book Award is presented by the International Law Section of the International Studies Association. It recognizes a book that excels in originality, significance and rigor in the field of international law. The winners of the 2017 ILAW Book Award are: